As an admin I can suspend and reactivate a user

Q1. What is the problem that you are trying to solve?
It should be possible to deactivate users. In a company environment users are not deleted but disabled first.

Q2 - Who is impacted?
Everyone, but especially someone in a company environment.

Q3 - Why is it important and/or urgent?
Legal reasons. User must not be able to log-in, but it must be known, to what passwords a user once had access to.

Q4 - What is your proposed solution? (optional)
Right-click user → disable user.

Q5. Community support
People can vote for this idea to show traction:

• :ok_woman: Must have: this is critical for me to have this
  • :raising_hand_woman: Should have: this is important for me to have this
  • :tipping_hand_woman: Could have: this could be nice to have
  • :no_good_woman: Won’t have: we should not schedule this (explain why)
0 voters
1 Like

@passboltUser this is actually already the case. When an admin delete a user the record is not deleted but a flag is set to 1 in the users table deleted field. The UI should be improved however to allow to see the soft-deleted users.

Thanks, good to know.

A suggestion on what may happen when clicking ~“disable user”: The user may either be grayed but be still present with the other users, or may be moved to an own “Disabled Users” table at the top menu. But it should be possible to re-enable the user, so he may not disappear from the UX.
Also, the admin, when disabling a user, may be able to set the user to ~“only visible to admins”.
Also, it would be nice to see which passwords a user has shared (not his private ones).

1 Like

Question: If I delete a user, can he still be activated by setting the flag to 0 again?

I wouldn’t test that in production as this is not a supported feature, but they are good chances it will work unless you have recreated a user with the same username again.

Our plan was to implement the type of feature your describe, but we didn’t finish it yet.