As an admin, I can install passbolt without the need of GnuPG extension

Q1. What is the problem that you are trying to solve?
It is not always practical to add system-level extension like GnuPG. Moreover, it exists some composer module like https://github.com/phar-io/gnupg which can be used instead.

Q2 - Who is impacted?
Anyone who wants to install Passbolt but don’t have access to set system-level extension.

Q3 - Why is it important and/or urgent?
It reduces the requirements needed for Passbolt installation, for instance by allowing its installation on cheap shared hosting, and thus helping its adoption.

Q4 - What is your proposed solution? (optional)

Q5. Community support
People can vote for this idea to show traction:

• :ok_woman: Must have: this is critical for me to have this
  • :raising_hand_woman: Should have: this is important for me to have this
  • :tipping_hand_woman: Could have: this could be nice to have
  • :no_good_woman: Won’t have: we should not schedule this (explain why)

0 voters

@samuel thanks for the suggestions. Some thoughts in random order:

• pure php implementation should be possible but it will be slower.
  • we need to put some process in place to consider also is the security of these libs, like how should we review them / make sure they are maintained etc.
  • In the long run it will also increase integration testing effort (we’ll have to run all testsuites against different backend). The full testsuite runs in about 30min now. That’s already quite bit.
  • We have a similar issue with the plugin but the other way around. Some people are pretty vocal (e.g. gave bad reviews…) because we don’t support native gnupg integration.
  • I’ve heard some folks are working on a rust clone of gnupg

Interesting, GnuPG was/is being extensively tested regarding security. I don’t think it’s the same with the mentioned modules.

You’re right. It is probably simpler to rely on gnupg binary.