As a Docker Swarm administrator, I want to configure Passbolt with path to db password file to use Docker's built-in secrets store

Q1. What is the problem that you are trying to solve?
Briefly: I’d like to be able to configure Passbolt in Docker using an environment variable named DATASOURCES_DEFAULT_PASSWORD_FILE, which will contain the path to a file that contains the database password. The reason is that I’m deploying Passbolt in Docker Swarm, and Docker’s built-in “secrets” feature stores sensitive values in files, explicitly avoiding environment variables for security reasons.

This is an old feature request (2018), neatly summarized here: chown fails with Docker Secrets, can't start container · Issue #89 · passbolt/passbolt_docker · GitHub

It might be interesting to add, as an example, some env variables with the suffix “_FILE” for the cases where the data is sensitive and thus will be loaded as a secret. I can think now about use cases of this for database credentials and email credentials. Providing for instance a DATASOURCES_DEFAULT_PASSWORD_FILE that contains the path of the secret would solve the use cases of the major container services (swarm, k8s…)

and in the comment that follows:

Yes, actually, now that you mention it I think that’d be the best option. That’d be consistent with what some of the official images do (e.g. MySQL).

Q2 - Who is impacted?
In particular, anyone deploying Passbolt in Docker Swarm or Kubernetes. (perhaps others)

Q3 - Why is it important and/or urgent?
Docker Swarm and Kubernetes are extremely common/popular deployment settings for Docker containers.

Q4 - What is your proposed solution? (optional)
See above.

Q5. Community support
People can vote for this idea to show traction:
(Poll removed because Discourse says I’m not allowed to create polls)

Meta:

1. It’s not ideal that I can only include two links as a new user. I tried to provide more links to make it easy to find related context, but I couldn’t.