Make a dead person switch

As a user, I can send an automated email or even password access in case of death, so that selected people know what to do next.

As an administrator, I can decide specific actions to undertake if a user is absent for too long, so that master passwords aren’t forgotten or I notice these people aren’t using the service.

Q1. What is the problem that you are trying to solve?
There are a lot of services offering a dead man switch aka dead person switch.
Well, they do nothing else, so these projects die out or bring no real value.

A password manager however is used weekly, if not daily. Within Passbolt as an admin, you can even view when was last time a user used your instance. So if a specific amount of time passed, it would be – I believe – simple for you to automate specific actions.

Q2 - Who is impacted?
All type of users: business, private/family alike ; and instance administrators
Passbolt: make it a stronger competitor

Q3 - Why is it important and/or urgent?

It is important for two reasons:

• Everybody dies. Anybody can have a serious injury. People change companies. In the digital era, there must be better solutions for dead people switches, but they have to be coupled with excellent open source projects, like a password manager called Passbolt.
  • Passwords are very important for private people and business alike. Some passwords aren’t used often, can be forgotten, but are critical to a business or even a person.

Q4 - What is your proposed solution? (optional)
I see two user cases:

• For an administrator:
    • Tell a user per email to log in once in a while not to forget the master password
    • Tell the admin per email a user has been not using the service for too long
  • Businesses & family/CE/private users:
    • User can define automated actions if they don’t log in for too long (could be due to death):
      • Send a message to specific email addresses