Password auditing (Part II)

As an Admin, I want to be able to see all the passwords in the system (not have acces to the passwords, but know they are there) and see the owner of the password, and how long ago they have been changed, and the password strength. So If I see a password hasn’t been changed for a long time, or it is very weak, I can ask the owner to change it. Maybe this could even be automated?

Also if a user is deleted (happens mostly because they leave the company), I want the owner to be reminded to change the password the user had access to.

Hi @pimzwager,

Could you please move this request to the backlog section: https://community.passbolt.com/c/backlog ?
From my perspective, I see 2 / maybe 3 features:
1- As an admin I should be able to list all the passwords available in the system, without their secrets, in order to see who they are shared with or some other metadata.
2- As a password owner, I should receive an automated notification when a password has to be rotated. (this will probably become part of a wider scope regarding password rotation policies).
3- As an admin I should be able to audit which passwords are too weak (this will logically become part of audit log at some point).

For 1, maybe @cedric or @remy have some views about it?

For 3, we’ve been having this in mind for quite a while. However, it is not clear yet how we’ll accomplish this without storing sensitive information in the database. Since we can’t calculate the strength of a password for a user that doesn’t have access to it, we’d have to store it somewhere. If we store it, we potentially disclose a sensitive information. I am curious to see if the community have opinions about it though.

thank you, moved to backlog

On 3, could you calculate the strength while the password is entered. and save this date as an attribute of the password?