As a security engineer, I want to forward Passbolt Audit logs to our SIEM for correlation and analysis

Q1. What is the problem that you are trying to solve?
Currently, I can only check audit trail of passwords which I have been granted access to. But for a full coverage of user activities for security event correlation, I need logins, logouts, permission changes, role events, and all audit trail of passwords. I don’t need the passwords themselves.

Q2 - Who is impacted?
All the company as lack of proper security of observability affects everyone.

Q3 - Why is it important and/or urgent?
It is related to the secure usage of the Passbolt itself, along with usage in highly regulated environments.

Q4 - What is your proposed solution? (optional)

As a security professional, I would like to have a specific role to access audit trails within Passbolt, preferably in a dashboard where I can quickly query. Within the same dashboard, I would like to have the ability to set up log forwarding in syslog, json or any other well known format, so that I can use any tool of my own to collect. As an alternative way, I would like to have the ability to log to /var/log/secure socket or a file like /var/log/Passbolt-Audit.log. So that the SIEM agent can collect the structured log from these and forward.

2 Likes

Hello @zbalkan

Welcome to the community!

Please take a look at this link, the feature is coming soon.

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the forum @zbalkan !
I remember that in the past, in v3.12.0, they announced that you can output the action logs in syslog or a file. Maybe this can help you.
Here is the link to the release announcement, so you have to investigate a bit about how it works

2 Likes

Hi,