Export password feature

Hello,
i suppose that when a user exports a password in Passbolt, the password is currently displayed in clear text. This poses a significant security concern, as the purpose of a password manager is to securely store and manage sensitive credentials. I believe it is crucial to address this issue promptly by implementing measures to obfuscate or mask the exported passwords, such as using asterisks or other techniques to prevent their direct visibility.

and as an administrator, I would like to have the ability to define which users can export passwords. Having fine-grained control over this feature would allow me to restrict access to password exports for certain users or user groups, depending on their roles or the sensitivity of the passwords they have access to. This level of administrative control is essential to enforce security policies and minimize potential risks associated with unauthorized exporting of passwords.

thank

Hello @AntoineNG and Welcome to the forum!

Before trying to go for clarification, I just wanted to share that there’s a new incoming pro feature planed for the version 4.1.0 of Passbolt. It’s called RBAC (Role Based Access Control) where you will be able to defined that a given role is not able to do such thing as exporting the passwords or even do a preview of it.

About the export, when a secret is shared to a user, the user is able to access the cleartext part of the secret anyways. Not being able to export massively the secrets or not being able to preview a secret in Passbolt UI won’t block a user to access the clear text and save it manually somewhere else.