Passbolt error, "user id must be uuid or "me"

Hi all,

I’m an intern system administrator at an IT company. A colleague of mine gets "the user id should be a uuid or “me”. I tried searching on the error and try to find out what I can do about it but the documentation is scarce on this kind of error.

The issue starts when she opens Chrome and tries to login on the Passbolt Plugin. rebooting the system doesn’t work. I logged in on our local passbolt server, did /var/www/passbolt/bin/cake passbolt cleanup --dry-run which found some data issues and I cleaned it by removing --dry-run

After that the issue persist. I then checked the logs, by using cat error.log | grep uuid I found out that the error is registered every 2-3 days multiple times.

I sadly can’t do a healthcheck because I don’t know the password of the nginx account (non-root user). What can I do here to solve this specific issue?

Hi @Jeerus,

Which version of passbolt are you using? You can see this by hovering the little heart at the bottom right corner when you are logged in. We’ve seen this problem on old instances 2.x, it might be that the extension is not compatible with your API version.

Hi,

The nginx account has no password, you have to run commands “as nginx user” from root user, or another user with sudo rights, eg:

sudo -H -u nginx bash -c "/var/www/passbolt/bin/cake passbolt healthcheck"

or

sudo su -s /bin/bash -c "/var/www/passbolt/bin/cake passbolt healthcheck" nginx

Cheers,

Well that’s the problem, I can’t login because I don’t have an admin account yet. They’re still busy fixing that. But you might be right that we’re running an old passbolt server, it’s said here that no one can remember how long ago the passbolt server has been updated. I think you’re right with the possibility of an outdated API vs the web browser plugin.